Helen Bearpark Scholarship

This scholarship commemorates Dr Helen Bearpark who was tragically killed in a road accident in the United States in December 1996.

The purpose of this scholarship is to facilitate international travel and exchange in order to develop skills in sleep research or clinical sleep medicine. The scholarship is not aimed at allowing individuals to travel to conferences or move overseas for employment (e.g., postdoctoral positions greater than 12 months in duration) but rather to visit institutions in order to develop new or extend previously acquired skills.

The applicant must be a current ASA or ASTA member. The scholarship may be available to a non ASA or ASTA member residing outside of Australia or New Zealand who wishes to travel to an institution(s) in Australia or New Zealand for similar purposes, provided the proposed supervisor is an ASA or ASTA member of at least two years. The maximum amount awarded for each project is $AUD7,500.


Applications for the Helen Bearpark Scholarship are accepted up to 31st July each year. 

Donations to the Helen Bearpark Scholarship

Donations can be made by cheque or credit card by returning a completed donation form:
Helen Bearpark Scholarship Donation Form

Australasian Sleep Association
114/30 Campbell Street
Blacktown, NSW 2148

Award Recipients

2021 Julia Stone
2019 Tetyana Kendzerska
2018 Michelle Olaithe
2017 Angela D'Rozario
2016 Amy Reynolds
2015 Cassie Hilditch
​2014 Michelle Short
2013 Bei Bei & Yu Sun Bin
2012 Tracey Sletten
2011 Not awarded
2010 Not awarded
2009 Andrew Vakulin
​2008 Mark Kohler
2007 Melinda Jackson
2006 David Berlowitz
2005 Danny Eckert
2004 Sarah Blunden
2003 Siobhan Banks
2002 David Jones
2001 Amy Jordan
2000 Renata Riha

© 2022 Sleep DownUnder  |  Meeting is managed by
The Conference Company

Designed & Developed by